Meeting My Niece

3

January 4, 2012 by Amie M

My sister made my world when she told me she was pregnant. I was incredibly excited for her and my brother-in-law to take this next step in their lives together: to have a baby. I was one of the lucky few who know what Melissa was having before the angel was born. When she told me it was a girl, I cried. Since then, and even more so since she was born I’ve been planning all kinds of adventures to have with her. I want to teach her how to sew, knit, crochet, catch frogs, play with dirt and how to not get in trouble. Because now after meeting her, I know she will be a heartbreaker. An adorable ginger heartbreaker.

Natalie Anne Hornby was born November 22, 2011. She has a crazy birth story. Let’s just say she took her time coming out, but well worth the wait.

I got to meet my little angel for the first time when I went home for Christmas. She was the highlight of my trip (sorry Mom and Gramma). I know I won’t be there for a lot of things for her, so it’s important that I spend as much time with her as I can, when I can. Her first Christmas won’t be one she will remember, as she was only a month old, but I will.

I will remember meeting her. I will remember giving Melissa a break to have a shower and capturing some photos on self-timer of my sweet girl.

I will remember bouncing her in front of the dishwasher because she was fussing, and the white noise made her calm down. At Gramma and Grampa’s (her Great-Gramma and Great-Grampa’s) I will remember how the only who trumped me for holding her was (Great) Gramma. I bounced her and sang her Muppets songs while everyone was opening presents. I didn’t care that I missed most of Christmas with the Bahuauds because I was holding her.

Natalie is an adorable baby, who likes to be naked baby, puts her Momma to task for not feeding her on her schedule (which is food, now, always).

She loves it when her puppy, CC (seen above) licks her feet and hands.

She is a wiggler who hates socks, hats and blankets.

She is special, lovely, and I can’t wait to spend more time with her when I go home again.

Love you, Nat Nat!

3 thoughts on “Meeting My Niece

  1. […] so hard to believe the last and only time I held her was when she was 9 lbs and one month old. But I will be seeing her again when she is 9 […]

  2. […] Natalie. Have this smiling, giddy, bouncy, happy girl in my life has made me more conscious of some of my […]

  3. […] first day I met you, last Christmas, you were only a month old. And already you stole my heart. Your rolly arms, […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

