Baba Pinched

2

January 16, 2012 by Amie M

I love perogies. It’s no secret, as whenever there is a potluck or get together needing food, I volunteer to make perogies. And for the past few years I’ve made a vow to only eat homemade ones. There is just something special about fresh, baba-pinched perogies.

A month before Christmas I made 12 dozen perogies. Thinking I would go nuts with 144 potato and cheese, I decided to switch it up and introduce a new flavour into our perogies rotation: Sweet Potato and Maple. These ones were a big hit with the man, who hates sour cream, so the normal ones are lost on him.

Last weekend when I went to Heather’s for supper and catch up, we made perogies! Here’s the low down on my fave recipe.

 

In one big bowl, mix 3 cups flour, 1 cup warm water, 1/3 cup cooking oil and 1 tsp salt.

Get right in there, dirty, and mush it all up with your hands. Baba pinched starts with hand mixing. Get back to the basics! Knead the crackers out of the dough. Not literally as there are no crackers in there, but knead it until smooth.

Cover the bowl with a cloth and let rest for half an hour, at room temperature.

Whilst the dough rests, make your filling. For some reason I always over make the stuffing, and end up making more dough. I guess that’s how I made 12 dozen perogies last time! Ha!

Peel and cube 1 to 2 sweet potatoes, not three like I did, remember I over make.

Boil the snot out of them, or just until fork tender.

Add maple syrup. I added 3 Tbsp to 3 potatoes. So 1 Tbsp per potato is a good rule.

Do the potato mash.

Mix and taste. Tasting is key, especially if they are sweet potato filled.

Back to the dough.

Roll it out until 1/8 inch thick.

Cut into squares, or if your are anal retentive, use a glass and cut circles. If doing the circle way, be careful not to work the dough too much, it can go rubbery.

Using about 1 Tbsp of filling per perogie, stuff em!

My baba-pinch method works best when using square dough. Pinch two opposite corners together.

Then pinch closed one half of the triangle.

Then the other. Check for holes and air pockets. If there are any, patch with spare dough. If holes are put into the water, then out comes the filling.

Boil the perogies in batches. The key to knowing if they are done is if they float.

These float, therefore they are done.

Take out of water and drain. It helps to put in some oil at the beginning before boiling to slick up the perogies. Otherwise when you get to this stage, they tend to stick to each other, and then you get a massive perogie ball. Yum. But not too shareable.

Fry some bacon and onions, pour on top. Serve with sour cream, chives and/or green onions. The sweet potato ones go really well with a hint of BBQ sauce.

2 thoughts on “Baba Pinched

  1. I keep meaning to make more of these… maybe this weekend

  2. […] and watched my sister’s excitement when she opened her sewing machine. I made six dozen perogies, tried to make perishky for the first time, kutia for the second and had a great Ukrainian […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

