I am a Selfish Knitter, and Now Crocheter

3

February 7, 2012 by Amie M

When I first started knitting, I was making things for everyone but myself. I made things for family, friends, and after a couple years went by, I had nothing for myself. I didn’t like that. This was after all a hobby that I was doing for me, so why shouldn’t I keep some of my creations afterwards? During this self-realization I was rooting around on Ravelry and found the Selfish Knitters and Crocheters, and have been a member since January 2009.

We are The Sainthood of the Aggrieved Knitters/Crocheters Who Say Nee to Non-Lovers of Our Knitting/Crocheting. We make what we want, when we want, for whomever we want. 

Our Battle Cry(s):

  1. We only knit/crochet for ourselves and for people who bless us and hand us boxes of expensive chocolates! Or money.
  2. Some people need to learn gratitude or face the wrath of our flinging needles/hooks of Death!
  3. Selfish Knitters/Crocheters are people who love and value themselves.
  4. By uber-KAL/CAL-ling, selfish knitters/crocheters can multiply the amount of attention they get for each project.
  5. Everybody should be loved. But some people are greeting-card-love-worthy and some people are handmade-socks worthy.
  6. Be excellent to one another.

Official Proclamation – any knittings/crocheting done for friends/family who just created human life OR are fighting hard to preserve human life are knittings/crocheting done from the heart and not because of the selfishness of others and are therefore free from scorn and spite in this group!

We are here to support each other in our quest to become/be selfish knitters/crocheters. No more “Can you make this for me and have it done tonight?”. No more “But I really liked the other color better.” No more “Can you make me a man-thong?”

(All the above taken from the Selfish Knitters and Crocheter‘s group page, and only Ravelers might be able to see the page.)

I love the concept of knitting only for those who are knit-worthy. No more gimme-pigs asking impossible things of you within impossible timelines. The ladies and men of this group are great for comedic relief for when I KIP (Knit in Public) on a WIP (Work in Progress) project with a muggle (non-knitter) watching and demanding a set of Norwegian mittens for their cousin who’s birthday is coming up next week, but they will pay for the yarn. Instead I now knit for myself first, with yarns I want to use. There are no deadlines, other than self-imposed ones. When I knit for someone, I mean it. It’s because they are special to me, and I know they will appreciate what I’ve made for them.

One of my favourite projects was making my sister’s wedding shawl, the first time.

It was my first major lace project, and I challenged myself. The challenge was for me. The love it showed my sister when I gave it to her, was also for me.

And her wearing it on her wedding day, was her showing her love for me.

Since then I’ve made other selfish projects, for myself and family. And each time I make a pretty, I get something out of it.

Whether it’s learning a new skill like colourwork (these mittens for Mom, modeled by the lovely Cocoa);

Or using those skills I tested out on others for something for me. Like my new hat.

But making something for my niece trumps all of the above selfish motives behind my knitting. Knowing that Natalie can look at the things I will be making her, and have made her, and see how much her Auntie loves her, is reason enough. But I guess that’s selfish too, and that’s ok. I like being selfish.

3 thoughts on “I am a Selfish Knitter, and Now Crocheter

  1. kiwiyarns says:

    I think that version of ‘selfish’ is great. Knitting takes up so much of your life – you have to like what you’re doing or else why do it? For me, the biggest part of the love of knitting is using yarn I love and patterns I like. There are enough shops out there for people who want something in a colour or yarn you don’t like to use…

  2. Lauren says:

    I always feel guilty because most of my projects are for me but you know what, that battle cry makes me feel much better. And I just joined the group on Ravelry. Thank you!

  3. […] year I made mittens for everyone in my (immediate) family, and I’ve already shared some of them. Because Kathleen and Marc live closer, she tends to see what I’m knitting as I’m […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

