Sugar High!

3

February 15, 2012 by Amie M

Kate and I had a girls’ baking night at my place, Monday. So I got all my goodies prepped: pre-made my sugar cookie dough, defrosted some leftover icing from a couple cakes ago. Then I just texted her to come on over before I put them in the oven. We cracked open a bottle of wine, and had some giggles when we got to the decorating.

The sugar cookies I typically use vary between Joy the Baker‘s (I honestly cannot find the link, but I got it here, because it’s printed with her blog title on it…), and Amanda’s of I Am Baker . Both of these cookie recipes are good, but I tend use and like Joy’s more. Amanda’s are more portable, though.

To start:

3 c. All purpose flour

3/4 t. baking powder

1/4 t. salt

1 c. unsalted butter, softened

1 c. sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 T milk

Sift flour, baking powder and salt.

Cream butter and sugar until pale yellow. Add egg and milk, and beat until well combined, not oily looking.

Gradually add the dry to the wet with the mixer on low. Mix until combined and dough pulls away from the bowl edges.

Pat down.

Wrap in wax paper and refrigerate for minimum 2 hours. The dough needs to rest, and the softened butter needs to reconstitute into the dough. This makes for airier cookies, much like with pie dough; cold butter means better baking!

Whilst dough was cooling, I took out some leftover icing from some friends’ defense cakes. Vanessa might recognize the hot pink one. To switch cake icing to cookie icing, especially after being frozen, beat really well.

Then gradually add milk and icing sugar to get the right consistency. This icing only needed to be wetted, not dried, so I just added milk 1 T at a time.

And taste test for texture, and taste!!

After cookie dough is chilled, take out and roll to 1/4 inch thickness. Set oven temp to 375F.

Cut dough into desired shapes. I used circles. Then I formed hearts out of half of the dough.

Bake on greased or lined cookie sheets for 7-9 minutes. Kate and I got chatting away with the wine, so I left mine in a little long.

Then get your decorating paraphenalia, and team, together. Audrey helped to round out the team. She likes to think of herself as the Quality Assurance Personnel.

I made a dozen rose cookies, like these. I just didn’t go into as much prep for the cookie and icing.

Then Kate and I went crazy with the cookies!

Then, when we ran out of cookies, and still had more icing, we decorated ourselves! Actually, Kate decorated my hand and finger. Then Paul and Audrey came in to see what the giggling was all about, then Paul got in on it, too. Needless to say, with all the wine and icing tasting, I really needed to brush my teeth!

3 thoughts on “Sugar High!

  1. Vanessa says:

    Haha. Awesome!
    Sweet icing henna.

  2. Kate says:

    An excellent night! I still feel full from eating so many cookies…

  3. […] black pepper and 2 t sea salt. I used a gluten free flour mix, because I ran out of flour the night before. Silly […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

