Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lobster, Spock

6

March 8, 2012 by Amie M

Remember today? And the big crazy snowstorm?

You were at a Young Liberals Convention in Hamilton, and I was stuck in Guelph, getting ready to meet you for our first date. The snow was coming down like a blanket. I put on my slinky black dress, did my nails all hot red, and made my face glow with blush and bronzer. I wanted to impress you and your friends.

I trudged through the drifting snow to wait for the bus to take me to the mall where we were going to meet. The bus was 20 minutes late. But it didn’t matter, I had a hot date.

I got to the mall and waited for you. We were meeting up to go Heather’s for a pre-party, then to yours for another pre-party for the ball. Neither of us had cell phones, so there was no way for us to get in touch. So I waited, alone, and worried because of the roads. One bus came and left, but you didn’t come. I shrugged it off because of the weather.

Another bus came and left, and you still weren’t there. I shrugged it off.

A third bus came, and you still didn’t make my heart leap with you rushing towards me. So I decided to give it one more bus.

That fourth bus came and went, and I still hadn’t saw you. But I didn’t want to give up, because you might be worth it. So I gave it one more bus.

Just as the fifth bus came pulling up you came running to me. You apologized, hugged me, and we rushed to the bus. On the bus you told me this great story about how you were stranded in Hamilton because of the storm. And you caught a ride with other Guelphites to get back. But you had to take the back roads because the highways were closed. I missed half of what you were saying, because I just loved listening to you talk. You are just as animated with you stories now, as you were then.

We made it to Heather’s. Met her housemates, and partied with them. But we didn’t get involved in any of their games or frivolity. We were too busy devouring each other with our eyes and taking in all the stories.

We left Heather’s early to go back to your place. Your housemates were also having a party, and you weren’t in your suit yet for the ball.

You went upstairs to change, and I introduced myself to your friends. Geoff was intimidating, Mike was a little tipsy, Steph was loud and wouldn’t talk to me, Melissa was extremely friendly and tried to help me fit in. The other people there: Dave (who set us up, was extremely nice, and kept laughing at how we actually went through with the date), Lisa, Eliza, and Kim were a blur.

I went upstairs to check on you, or you came down and showed me around. But when you brought me to your room and showed me your guitars, I knew I liked you even more! It might have been the guitars, it might have been the tequila, but I knew I couldn’t resist your charm and smiles, so just as you turned around to grab my hand and show me the rest of the townhouse, I kissed you.

Then either Lisa or Eliza walked in, exclaimed “Hey! It’s Facebook Girl” and took a picture. This is the first photos of us.

The date went pretty smoothly: we danced, we drank, we danced. And then came time to go home. So we waited in line for coat check. Which lasted until 6 am. How did we pass the time? Why we played Rock, Paper, Scissors! We went at least 20 rounds tying each other.

So in honour of that epic game of Rock, Paper, Scissors, four years ago tonight, I found a way to title this post!

Lobster Crepes with Bechamel Sauce

Ingredients, Assemble! For the crepes, you will need milk, flour, eggs, melted butter, salt and chives.

Throw all the ingredients in a bowl.

And blend! Set your crepe batter aside while you make the filling.

Ingredients, Assemble! For the bechamel sauce you will need hot sauce, butter, garlic, milk, flour, lemon, salt, and dill. And you will also need lobster or crab chunks. Artichoke hearts are pictured, but later vetoed by Paul. After the night before’s olive fiasco, I do not blame his reluctance for more pickled things.

You will notice my dill is also in frozen cubes. Got to love the excess foodshares give you! They really can take you into the winter for fresh herbs.

Melt butter in a saucepan on medium. See? All good things start with butter.

Then add two garlic cloves, peeled. Stir for 30 seconds.

Whisk in flour until it bubbles. This will happen very quickly. I didn’t have time to take the photo because the bubbling already happened.

Gradually add in milk, whisking to prevent lumps.

Whisk in hot sauce and salt.

Bring the whole thing to a light boil over high.

Reduce heat and stir often until it thickens. Mine thickened right away.

Remove from heat. Add 2 t of lemon peel, and 2 t lemon juice. Stir into sauce with sliced lobster or crab meat and dill. Set aside and cover while you make the crepes.

On a non-stick pan, or crepe pan, drizzle a teaspoon of oil, and set over medium heat.

Once the oil dances a little bit, lift from heat and pour 2 T of crepe batter onto your pan. Lifting from heat makes sure the crepe doesn’t cook while the batter is spreading.

Tilt to spread batter evenly.

Cook about 30 sec per side.

To serve, scoop about 1/3 cup of the lobster filling onto the crepe in the middle, fold one side over, then the other. Garnish with more dill.

I am trying to get better at my food plating and finished product photos. But it’s hard when there is a starving bear of a man hovering and asking if it’s done yet.

Crab and Artichoke Crepes with Bechamel Sauce (from Chatelaine’s Modern Classics)

Crepes

2 eggs

3/4 c milk

1/2 c flour

4 t melted butter

1/4 t salt

2 T fresh chives

Filling

3 T butter

2 garlic cloves

1/4 c flour

1 1/2 c milk

1/2 t tabasco (I used Frank’s Red Hot)

1/2 t salt

1 lemon

2 227 g packages of imitation crab (I used lobster), sliced

170 ml jar marinated artichoke halves, chopped (Paul vetoed)

1/4 fresh dill (I used frozen from summer)

Blend all crepe ingredients together.

For filling:

Melt butter in saucepan over medium. Add garlic and stir for 30 seconds.

Whisk in flour until it bubbles.

Gradually add milk, whisking constantly.

Whisk in and tabasco salt. Whisking constantly, bring to boil over high.

Reduce to medium low, and stir until thickens, about 2 minutes.

Remove from heat.

Grate 2 t lemon peel and squeeze 2 t lemon juice into filling.

Stir in crab and dill.

To make crepes:

Spray medium non-stick frying pan with oil and set over medium heat.

When hot, spoon 2 T of better with pan lifted from heat. tilt to cover whole pan with batter.

Set back down and cook 30 sec per side.

To serve:

Spoon 1/3 c of filling into middle of crepe, and roll like a loose burrito. Garnish with more dill.

I love you, my Honey Bear. Four years ago today was a major snowstorm, and our first date.

6 thoughts on “Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lobster, Spock

  1. Vanessa says:

    But artichokes and olives are hardly comparable. Olives are disgusting. Artichokes are delicious. I do not support Paul’s veto! Haha.

    • ecochic87 says:

      Neither did I! But he did complain and make faces, and he was doing the dishes for me. So I couldn’t interrupt that!

  2. Kate says:

    I love how classy you look in your first photo together! The can of Lakeport’s a giveaway though 😉

  3. Heather says:

    That was an epic snowstorm… every time I suggest going to a dance, Julian brings up the snowstorm.

  4. Geoff says:

    You should still be intimidated by my awesomeness

  5. […] was the four year anniversary of Paul’s and my First Date. Today, just like then, Guelph is blanketed by snow. I love […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

