I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike

6

June 1, 2012 by Amie M

When we moved into our little apartment just over two years ago, we noticed an old rusted green bike in the back when we tied up our bikes. We both commented on it and wondered who it belonged to. After an almost complete changeover of tenants in the house, we ask the only one who had been there before us if the bike belonged to him. It didn’t. So this spring Paul and I claimed it, and made it mine.

After a precursory inspection by the Great Bike Guru Rashaad, we learned there was nothing wrong with the frame or vital parts, but the rust will have to be removed to see if there was any damage underneath. He also figured the bike had more than one gear at some time. With some googling, we figured out it was a 1970’s CCM.

Paul took the bike apart, as much a he could, and we derusted the pedals, spokes, wheel rims, handle bars, everything that was showing a bit of orange.

Then we painted it glossy white. We used the white as a primer to cover the moss green underneath. It took three thin and even coats to get it all. During all of this was when Buddy kept us company outside, much to Audrey’s chagrin.

Using some painters tape, I taped off bits of the frame and fenders to stay white while we applied the best colour ever: yellow.

There is something about yellow that just makes you smile. It’s the colour of sunshine, daffodils, summer. I wanted my bike to make me smile. I wanted to enjoy being seen on this bike that we put so much work into.

Two coats of butter yellow later we were golden.

This was when things started to get a little over Paul’s head for putting it all back together. The brakes were complicated, and we though the wires might need to be replaced. There was no gear set on the bike when we found it, and what use is a bike with only one gear when I want to bike to work up a ridiculous hill. So we took the beauty in to get looked at and serviced by someone who knew what they were doing.

Backpeddling took one look at the bike and knew it was a 1972 CCM. And he just so happened to have the gear set on hand! So he took the bike for three nights, and made her like new.

We added a basket, a cushy extra wide cruiser seat. Paul likes to call it a “seat made for a ladies’ bottom.” Backpeddling had the handle grips in a near perfect match to the seat.

I’ve been riding her a lot. I’ve made it my goal for this summer and into the fall to bike to work at least three days a week. It is reasonable to not bike on the exceptionally hot days nor on the rainy days. So it should all even out. It doesn’t even feel like a work on this baby. The cruiser style is so much more comfortable on my back. I’m not hunched forward like on all the mountain bikes I had before this one. And I love my basket. It is missing one thing though, a bell.

6 thoughts on “I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike

  1. Vanessa says:

    Ooh yeah, a bell would be perfect!

  2. Love this!!! She looks great!

  3. inkomplete says:

    Great job, it looks great… but maybe a horn instead of a bell?

  4. I love the colour and the basket!

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

