Our Family Keeps Growing

8

June 4, 2012 by Amie M

We added a bouncing bundle of joyful fur to our family last week. Although it seems like a spur of the moment decision to outsiders, it has been one Paul and I have been discussing and weighing for some time.

Paul was stopping in at a pet store on his way home from work on Tuesday. The same pet store where one of the local humane society’s houses their kittens. He thought “What the heck, I’ll just pop into the kitten room and see who’s around.” Lo and behold, a certain orange haired fluffball that we have been admiring and thought was adopted was back!

I was at school after work that day, and didn’t have my phone. With great happenstance I called Paul to ask for a ride home on his way by because I cut my leg on my bike and was getting blood on my skirt.

He giggled and said he was currently looking at an adorable kitten. Did we want to get one now? I paused, and asked “How late are they open ’til?” I heard a family walk in and they were exclaiming over the kittens. “Don’t let them take our baby!” I yelled into the phone with some looks from school colleagues.

He put the fluffer on reserve, even though the shopgirls said they usually don’t do it. Came flying back to town to get me, go home, get the cat carrier and drop off my bike. Then we raced back to the pet store. He was there, the other orange kitty was gone.

But I picked up the little guy we had our hearts set on. He nestled into my hair and sweater right away. I knew he would be perfect. Into the cat carrier he went.

As Paul paid for the little boy, I took him for a walk to find some toys. Then it was back home to Audrey, and the introduction we were nervous about.

Charlie

The first day was a bit rough. They had a quick supervised meeting, then he slept in the bathroom. The next day he had the bedroom to himself while Audrey had the house during the day, and bathroom again at night. It went like this until Thursday night when he “snuck past me” and explored the apartment. The next night he had the run of the apartment after work, and all weekend he didn’t get put back in the bathroom unless we thought Audrey needed a break.

They’ve been really good. We have been sure to give Audrey as much attention as we are giving him. An angry kitty is a mischievous kitty!

More stories and photos to come shortly. He definitely keeps us on our toes!

8 thoughts on “Our Family Keeps Growing

  1. Kim says:

    Awh amie! He looks like cheesecake! Lol. What a cute little fella ! ❤

  2. Vanessa says:

    Are they still swatting at each other? Haha. What a cutie! 🙂

  3. Carrie says:

    Mioaw~~~ he’s so fluffy and cute!!!

  4. […] We added to our little family by adopting Charlie. […]

  5. […] It’s hard to believe this big boy was this little fluffer when we met him, and brought him home. […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

