Canada Day is Saskatoon Pie

7

July 3, 2012 by Amie M

You can’t get much more Canadian than a beautiful, fruity pie full of native berries. Saskatoons, blueberries, raspberries and strawberries, with copious amounts of butter, little bit of lemon and a small amount of sugar, coming together and dancing a two-step on your tastebuds. Delicious.

I added other berries to this pie because the saskatoons were a year old in my freezer, and I felt they could use a little help in the juice and sugars department. Adding a little shine to their belt buckles, to make my skirt fly up.

My best pie crust is a mix of three to four recipes that I have tried, and just mashed together what I liked most about each, and limiting the salt and sugar I put in, so that the flavour comes from the butter and the filling, not the additions.

For the crust, 3/4 cup of flour, 1 T sugar, 1/2 t salt, stirred.

Grate in 3/4 cup of FROZEN butter. Frozen is key. The most important part of a good crust is to keep the butter cold until it hits the oven.

Mush up the crust with your fingers, and add up to 4 T of iced water. Stop adding water when the crust makes a shaggy ball.

Flatten into a disc and put in fridge between some waxed paper. For a normal to deep dish pie, you will need to double this if you want a top crust, too.

For the filling, take 4 cups of the berries you want to use. Add 2 T lemon juice and 1 T water.

Simmer.

Add 1 T butter, 1 T sugar, 1 1/2 T instant tapioca pudding. Stir and simmer for a couple minutes, then turn it off and leave it be. But stir every once in a while so it doesn’t completely set while you roll out the crust.

Now is the fun part. Or frustrating if it is 32 C in your kitchen and the sun is beating down on your table as you roll out the pie crust. And you are kicking yourself for not getting up at 7 a.m. to do those dishes so you can see your kitchen table so you can make pie. And then swear and sweat and get the boyfriend to roll out the crust after two unsuccessful attempts leaving you with a hot, gooey mess stuck to your wax paper. And you are a hot, gooey mess as you are almost crying out of frustration. It was noon, and I already needed some gin, can you tell? The heat never gets to me. But it gets to me when it gets to my baking!

Take the pie crust and place between two sheets of waxed paper. Roll. For every 5 minutes rolling, put it back in the freezer for 10. That butter has to stay cold, and you have to keep checking that the waxed paper hasn’t melted into your pie crust. That gets nasty, and will ruin your hopes of a flakey lovely pie crust.

In hindsight, I should have used plastic wrap to do my rolling, or parchment paper. I should also own plastic wrap.

Also, put your pie plate and rolling pin the freezer whenever you put your crust in there. Everything needs to be really cold. Like cold enough if you stick your tongue to it, it will freeze like that dumb kid in elementary school did to the flag pole. Seriously, who does that?

Press the bottom crust into your pie plate. Make a fancy schmancy top pie crust. I went a little awesome, and did a maple leaf in the middle. Yes, the blob is a leaf, if you squint. Egg wash it up. Bake at 375 F for 15 minutes. Then 350 F for 35 minutes.

Pull it out, and marvel at the crunchy texture of the top pie crust. And ooh at the not too sweet filling.

Mmm pie.

Note to self: next time roll out the pie crust in front of the window air conditioner. It is worth it for the aesthetics and texture to be better!

My Canada Day weekend was great! Farmer’s market, brunch out, boutiquing (it’s a word, I just made it), quickie lake swim with Penny, gelato, grocery run, BBQ, fireworks, and hanging out with friends, t-wording.

I kind of went a little Canuck crazy for the BBQ. I made drunken chicken, and decorated.

Yep, that is indeed a red and white themed serving table. All my red accessories and white plates came in handy! Like my awesome Pyrex bowl? Aside from it being awesome as it was stuffed with berries to the brim, I picked it up with a red one a size bigger at a garage sale weekend before last for a toonie! (That’s two dollars) Awesome, eh?

And this is what we call Gin and Berries. Or Berries and Water. Fresh berries muddled into gin, splash of vermouth (for me) and fill the glass with tonic. So refreshing.

Anyone do anything cool and exciting?

7 thoughts on “Canada Day is Saskatoon Pie

  1. Vanessa says:

    Can you believe I have never had your saskatoon pie? I’ve only had these berries you rant about once – in your perogies at thanksgiving at Kate’s… Yup, so I think a pie is in order for my return…
    I must say though, we just purchased saskatoon yogurt and saskatoon cidar is on my purchase list before I come home.

  2. Anarya Andir says:

    Wow, that looks yummy 😀

  3. kiwiyarns says:

    Hmm! I am terrible at flaky pastry – thank you for the recipe! When it becomes berry season here, I shall remember it for a delicious pie. I admire your perseverance baking on a hot day – you had me in giggles!

    • ecochic87 says:

      It really was perseverance! There was definitely some cursing, and beating of the crust while Audrey and Charlie looked on, panting in the heat. I learned my lesson: getting up real early on a hot day, when you *must* make a pie is key.

  4. […] Canada Day is Saskatoon Pie (letsbeamie.wordpress.com) […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

