Plank Salmon

2

July 10, 2012 by Amie M

I’ve been struggling for some time in how to make salmon that I like. For that year while Paul was in Japan, and a little before and after, I was an ova pesca lacta vegetarian. I basically just didn’t eat land meat, fruits de mer was alright though. And, whenever we headed to Paul’s parents’ house, they would feed me fish. It was always some variant on salmon or scallops or shrimp. Because I would have it so often, once I started eating meat again, salmon just didn’t taste right and I could never finish it.

So I’ve been on a mission to find a way to make it so that I will eat salmon again. It’s wonderfully full of good fats and minerals, and you can always use more Omegas in your diet.

This simple way to prep and cook salmon I think has won me over. I still don’t eat a lot of it, but the flavour is there, and I think it’s a keeper.

Mix 2 T maple syrup, 2 T lemon juice, 1 T dijon mustard. Chop up an onion really finely.

Toss the onion, 1 t of canola oil and 2 T of mixture.

Spread on a cedar plank that you have been soaking for at least 3 hours. Heat up the BBQ on high, then put down to medium-low when you add the plank. Grill for 3-5 minutes or until the plank starts to lightly smoke.

Add the salmon flank on top of the plank. Brush on most of the remaining mustard mix.

Grill for 15 minutes, brush on more mustard mix. Grill for another 10.

Keep the neighbour’s cat company. And get frustrated with him when we won’t stay still for a photo. But give him good head scratches anyways, while Audrey’s watching.

The salmon is ready when it starts to flake with a fork.

For some reason, Audrey cannot stand fish in her cat food, and will eat all the rest of her soft food around it. But when there is a fish on the table, her nose starts to twitch and she begins to coo at us to at least let her try. Silly, kitty. Charlie doesn’t even know what scraps are, yet.

2 thoughts on “Plank Salmon

  1. Melissa says:

    Looks really good!

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

