Herbed Butter Spaghetti Squash

3

July 26, 2012 by Amie M

Yep, it’s been awhile. The whole having a full-time job and other things in life on the go, doesn’t quite mesh well with blogging daily. Unless I can catch a break somewhere to upload photos and share a bit of my life, it just doesn’t happen.

In my first year of this ever-lengthening Masters degree, I live with a great girl named Stephanie, and her boyfriend Mike (who is Paul’s friend) and some others in a townhouse. Steph would make spaghetti squash for supper what seemed like once a week. This would be whenever Mike had night class or TAing to do. He is more of a hot wings and baked potato kind of guy.

Anyways, the smell of spaghetti squash steaming in the microwave would waft down to me in my basement bedroom. I never tried it when Steph made it, I was and still am a carb fiend, but squash was on sale at Zehr’s so I picked one up to give it a go.

All I needed to make it yummy was butter, garlic, salt, and basil.

I chopped the squash in half, removed the gooey insides, and microwaved for 15 minutes.

While the squash was steaming, I melted 1/4 cup butter with 1 Tbsp pureed garlic scapes. We’ve been getting loads of this stringy bit in our CSA foodshare. So I pureed and froze them into cubes to be used throughout the year. Mmm, butter and garlic.

Then I chopped up some frozen basil and added it to the butter sauce. We’ve been getting some of that, too. And to keep it fresh, and not going mouldy in our wonderful humidity, I just threw it in the freezer.

With forks I scooped out the flesh from the squash and tossed into a large bowl.

Then I added the herbed butter sauce, tossed.

Such a simple, and (almost) very healthy supper! Until you think about the butter… Oops. But this definitely counts for a large portion of my daily vegetable portion!

And yep, that is a pretty little princess in the background, my Quality Control.

3 thoughts on “Herbed Butter Spaghetti Squash

  1. Vanessa says:

    The beginning of this post seems to be directed at my blog harassment. Oops! Haha. It’s my guilty pleasure.
    But YUM, now I want spaghetti squash. We usually bake it in the oven, which takes forever. So the microwave is a good idea in the summer!!!

  2. vezinak says:

    I have always wanted to try spaghetti squash – I should try this out!

  3. Cheryl says:

    Yum! That looks really good!

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

