Beginnings, and Working on Endings

7

August 14, 2012 by Amie M

Some wonderful things have been happening in my life as of late. I’ve been caught up in a whirlwind of emotions, preparations and tasks.

I’m in the last reaches (again) of my thesis. My lunches, evenings and weekends have been dedicated to getting this one part of my life over with. And it’s almost come to a close. Just a couple more weeks and I will be giving the defense a second go.

But before that, I went home for the August long weekend, and spent some great time with my family. It is unbelievable how much Natalie has grown! I know, I know, the last time I saw her, she was a month old and now she is 8 months, so the growth spurt makes sense. But she is one big girl! Mom keeps saying that I was bigger.

Natalie being in my life is a beginning. And there is another one that I cannot wait to share.

Something wonderful happened two Fridays ago.

Paul and I got into Pearson Airport after parking our car for the weekend. We checked in and dropped off our bags only to find our flight was an hour late in departing. So we took our time going through security. Not that we had much choice, as there were only three lanes open and hundreds trying to get through.

We eventually made it to our gate, only to find our flight was going to be another hour late. I texted Mom to let her know that it would no longer be a 10:30 p.m. arrival, more like a 12:30 a.m. one.

The flight into Winnipeg was pretty uneventful. Although our headphone outlets were finicky, and we had to hold the jacks just so in order to get all the sound, never mind how to get it in both ears!

The landing was good, because it meant we were finally there. On our way down the escalators, there was a large group of people cheering and chanting in spanish. A Chilean teenage sports team was behind us, but we acted like it was meant for us.

Some great hugs and kisses, and almost tears, from the parents and we grabbed our luggage, full of baby clothes for Natalie I scored at a garage sale for 2$, and Paul’s camera tripod. You never know when you will see Northern Lights in Manitoba!

The drive to the parents’ was over in a flash. I love those drives in the dark. Chatting away with Mom and Dad, getting caught up on all the family gossip.

We pulled into the drive, and made it into the house, all full of yawns. It was almost 1:30 a.m. A quick slathering in kisses to the cats, they love me, then Mom and Dad had to show off their project in the back. Project is a loose term. They’ve been outfitting the yard with their own little oasis; complete with hot tub, pergola and second tier on the deck. They deserve it.

Since it was so late, Dad went to bed right away as he had to work in the morning. Mom made the decision to work from home the next day and stayed up chatting with us, but not for long. The three of us went to bed, but Paul stayed up to read a little. I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow.

But then I woke up to an alarm going off beside the bed. Groggily, I thought Paul must have set it so we will leave at a decent time to go to Gramma and Grampa’s. But it was still dark, so that didn’t make any sense.

I rolled over and saw Paul wasn’t in bed. Odd.

I looked at the alarm, but it wasn’t an alarm. It was a chicken kitchen timer. With a heart shaped note on it.

Greedily putting my glasses on, I read it.

“Look to your right.” So with my heart beating faster, I did.

To my right, in glow-in-the-dark paint was a message:

“Put on the dress.”

I hastily dug in my suitcase for my bra, ditched my nightgown and scrambled into the dress. My heart was pounding, my nerves were going frantic. Is this what I think it is?

On the dress was another note:

“Follow the lights.”

I took this time to look outside the room into the hallway. It was glowing. My hand fled to my mouth to cut off a squeal of glee. I think this is it.

Going into the hallway I was surrounded by candlelight. Hundreds of candles lined my path through the upstairs hallway, and down the stairs. Enjoying every second and letting myself get caught up in the wonder of the moment I raced floated down the stairs.

More candles danced around me in the dining, through to the living room. Mouth agape, fighting back tears of joy I met Paul at the front door looking rather dapper.

He took my hand and led me out the front door, onto the front deck and into the yard. We were walking amidst even more candles that flickered and directed us to a blanket laid out underneath the stars.

Stopping by the blanket, he took my hands, and looked into my eyes with such a soft gaze. He said some really wonderful, intimate things that made my heart melt, gave me those butterflies I feel every time he looks at me in that way and made my knees weak.

The next thing I knew I was kissing him as he went down on one knee. He asked me to marry him. I kissed him some more and told him “Yes, of course!”

After some moments, we went back inside to grab some blankets, it was cold, and to blow out the candles. Then we hurried back outside to enjoy the night, together, as fiancés.

He had prepared a little picnic and we sipped ice wine under the stars and cuddled almost until dawn.

The weekend was spent sharing the news with family, and calling friends back in Guelph. I am really glad he planned it the way he did. This way I was able to share something with my family that they would have otherwise missed out on being in another province. It made it more special watching Mom tear up in person whenever she talked about how much she loved us and was waiting for this. And watching Dad beam with excitement. Or even better in hearing Gramma tell us in person that she does not need permission to start telling the family.

7 thoughts on “Beginnings, and Working on Endings

  1. Vanessa says:

    YAY! I have been waiting forever for this post. And I do mean FOREVER!!! 😀
    Even though you told me the story in person (and on the phone), I enjoyed reading it just as much (if not more)! So sweet. Go Paul!
    WEDDING, WEDDING, WEDDING!!! YAYAYAYA!!!

  2. Mom says:

    Love you both!

  3. Meghan says:

    Congratulations again!! Thank you for the description, I could see the entire event! Congrats!!

  4. Cheryl says:

    What a wonderful story! Congratulations! 🙂

  5. […] all started with a fortune cookie. On our way home from Manitoba after the engagement weekend, we picked up some Asian fare at the Winnipeg airport while we waited for our flight. After we were […]

  6. […] just days after Paul asking me and making the wedding no longer hypothetical, we put in a call, and filled in online forms to […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

