Crazy Biscuit Cravings

3

August 15, 2012 by Amie M

Do you ever get an itch that you just cannot scratch? I get cravings like that sometimes. For me, my cravings are usually salty and buttery, savoury delicious items that make my mouth water and my mind go to all sorts of naughty places. Cheese, jalapeños, and montreal smoked meat. Oh, yeah.

To start making these yummy biscuits, I based it off Brown Eyed Baker’s biscuits, who based hers off Joy the Baker’s biscuits. I love what blogging has done to cooking!

Biscuits are so simple: 3 c flour, 1 T sugar, 4 1/2 t baking powder, 3/4 t baking soda, 3/4 t salt whisked together until they don’t know what’s up or down.

1 egg and 3/4 c buttermilk whisked together. Easiest way to make buttermilk? Pour normal milk into 1 T vinegar until you reach the amount you need. Done!

Mix your flavour together. I did jalapeño havarti, chives, green onions, aged white cheddar, marble cheese and pepper. Make about 1 1/2 c of filling.

Take 3/4 c cold unsalted butter cut into cubes, and mush it into the flour mixture with your hands. Depending on the temperature of your room this will be easy. Don’t let the butter get too soft or you will have mush. You want to mush, not make a mush. Make mush sense?

Add your flavour bits.

And add the buttermilk and egg into a well in the centre, and mix. Use your hands, it’s so much more fun that way!

Roll out to 1 1/2 inch thick. Cut with biscuit cutter, or a tea mug.

Bake for 12-15 minutes at 425 F.

Pull out, let cool. But only boring people stop there. Or normal people without huge cravings for something to blow their tastebuds out of the water with awesome.

I then cut mine in half made yummy sandwiches. Montreal smoked meat, swiss chard leaf, arugula, more jalapeño havarti and mustard, make me sing!

I think this satisfied my craving. All that to eat one biscuit. Now what to do with the dozen leftover biscuits?

3 thoughts on “Crazy Biscuit Cravings

  1. Vanessa says:

    Leftovers?!? I live within biking distance… Just sayin’
    And letting biscuits cool… Really? Wow, you are way more patient than me!

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

