It’s Done!

6

September 18, 2012 by Amie M

The past month has been rough. I’ve put in a lot of sweat and tears to complete something that’s been dragging on for enough time now.

Yesterday, I defended that beast of a thesis, again. With some wonderful support from friends and family, I rocked my presentation. Then I rocked the questions even harder.

This time, the deliberations and considerations took much less time. And when my advisor came to get me, he gave me a huge thumbs up. It felt wonderful to walk back into the classroom and get handshakes from the chair, examiner, committee member and my advisor. They were all beaming. I was beaming.

With some very minor revisions, I became a Magisteriate of Science.

Then the celebrating began. In case people around the world didn’t hear her, my mom was hysterical between laughing, crying and yelling. Pride oozed out of Dad’s voice, and I got a rambunctious squeal from Natalie. Paul’s eyes were bright with pride and relief.

(photo credit: Rashaad Bhamjee, and his iPhone)

Waking up this morning, even with revisions still to do, I felt amazing. Three years later, I have more initials behind my name, and a lot more life experience that has helped shape me into who I am now. Some of those experiences and lessons learned will continue to shape me and how I react to things for the rest of my life. I am calmer under pressure, and have learned that I don’t need to be defensive when people are questioning my work. There is such thing as constructive help, and there are people around me that just want to help.

Thank you to those that have helped, I couldn’t have done this without you.

6 thoughts on “It’s Done!

  1. Vanessa says:

    YAY! 🙂

  2. Amazing! Congratulations….

  3. Cass says:

    So awesome, Amie!

  4. Heather says:

    happy dances!

  5. […] Yes, I finally have the paper that goes along with my Masters. […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

