Friday Finds: 45 Days Until Christmas {Music}

2

November 9, 2012 by Amie M

Paul goes nuts for holidays. If he had a skirt, Halloween would make it fly up. He loves to decorate and get in the spirit for any little day that comes our way. He just doesn’t like scary Halloween, whereas I do. In fact I love scary Halloween decorations, the creepier and more nightmare-inducing the better!

But the Christmas season is like crack for him. He has to have it, and he has to have it now.

As soon as we got home from Vanessa and Rashaad’s Halloween night he ran around the apartment taking down all resemblances of All Hallow’s Eve. In their place he started arranging the mantel for the Jolly Season. His childlike smile as he galloped around placing things just so was a delight. If I didn’t insist we go to bed, he would have stayed up trying to put garland up. On November 1st. Silly boy.

I’ve been making myself get in the mood for the Month of Miracles. Kate and I were discussing Sunday some ideas for group gifts. And this week, at work, I’ve been creating a Christmas playlist.

Yep! Cue the Bing Crosby, Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong: Christmas Cheer is contagious, and it just starts with a song or two to get the hot cocoa flowing in your veins and your brain hopped up on sugar plums.

Here are some Christmas mixes that I’ve been queueing as of late:

A Very She & Him Christmas – She & Him

The lovely lady Zooey Deschanel takes her unique spin on some holiday classics. My major girl crush just got bigger.

White Christmas – Bing Crosby

The velvety voice of Mr. Crosby makes everyone smile when he sings about being home for Christmas makes we want to jump on a plane to Winnipeg the first chance I get.

Harry for the Holidays – Harry Connick Jr

Harry’s modern takes in a classic crooner style is refreshing, but still keeps my kicking-it-old-school tastes a buzz.

Ella Wishes You a Swinging Christmas – Ella Fitzgerald

Ella Fitzgerald. Her big voice, big band wishes you a big Christmas.

And here is a link to a great queue I have going. All song ideas taken from here.

2 thoughts on “Friday Finds: 45 Days Until Christmas {Music}

  1. Vanessa says:

    YAY CHRISTMAS!!!

  2. […] I found even more awesome yuletide cheer. And yes, it is indeed snowing on my blog. I love […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

