Lots and Lots of Gingerbread Bears, Oh My

2

November 27, 2012 by Amie M

Last Monday, Sarah and I got up to no good. Well, the night before was good. We were out for Kate’s Birthday, Sarah crashed in the spare room, got mauled by Charlie and Audrey. Then she was woken up to start baking! I warned her I wanted to get all my Christmas prep done by December 5. I warned her I wanted to make a lot of cookies. But I don’t think either of were expecting the cookie explosion that occurred.

Over 100 gingerbread bears came to life. Seventy-seven of them were iced. Sarah took just over a dozen home. The rest stayed out for a couple days. But only two dozen made it into the freezer. Hmm, how many did we eat?

More importantly, how did we make them?

First, there was an attempt to make a double batch of gingerbread. My keen spidey-senses tingled after the batter was done, and noticed it was just a bit too batter-y and not enough dough-y. We made a double batch of ginger BREAD, not gingerbread cookies. Whoops. Said bread took over 2 hours to bake, because I forgot that we doubled it, and didn’t pour it into two loaf pans. Double Whoops. I just kept piling on the whoopses on after the sugar mishap from the night before.

The gingerbread cookies we made were adapted from Canadian Living.

Beat 3/4 cup brown sugar with softened 3/4 cup butter.

Beat in 1 egg and 3/4 cup molasses.

In another bowl, sift with a whisk 4 1/2 cups flour, 2 tsp ginger, 1 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 baking soda, 1/2 cloves, I used nutmeg, 1/4 tsp baking powder, pinch of salt.

Stir into the molasses mixture. Then get in there and mix with your hands.

Audrey assumed her usual supervisory role. She was on quality control to make sure we didn’t forget ingredients.

Refrigerate for 2 hours until firm, after you divide the dough into thirds. We didn’t do this.

Roll out between parchment paper.

Again with Audrey checking on us.

Cut out with floured cookie cutter.

Bake at 325 F for 15 minutes, until firm. We had a grand system going. With two baking sheets, and five things to bake the cookies on. Parchment paper, silicone mats. We had it covered. But baking 100+ cookies takes a few hours. It wasn’t until almost dark that we got set up to decorate.

And decorate we did. We went nutters.

I had seventy-seven gingerbears, but now I have twenty-one.

My faves were the ones all suited up with their bow-ties and suspenders. Then the little ladies with their pearls and dresses.

2 thoughts on “Lots and Lots of Gingerbread Bears, Oh My

  1. Cheryl says:

    That’s a LOT of bears! They’re so cute!

  2. […] was there, present, making umpteens amounts of cookies. I was present putting thought and effort into family’s gifts. I was present when Natalie […]

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

