Being Present

3

January 10, 2013 by Amie M

I’m back. And oh boy did a lot of things happen since I last posted.

I took some time to be present during the holiday season. I really wanted to savour the love and support of family and friends, and didn’t want to feel like I had to document every little thing. Instead I took a step forward, not back, and got involved.

I was there, present, making umpteens amounts of cookies. I was present putting thought and effort into family’s gifts. I was present when Natalie opened her presents, and watched my sister’s excitement when she opened her sewing machine. I made six dozen perogies, tried to make perishky for the first time, kutia for the second and had a great Ukrainian Christmas with friends.

I was present for Christmas with Dad’s side, as we gathered around my parents’ table and talked of the year to come. I learned a lot from Auntie Teresa and she taught me how to make her signature perishky and kutia.

I was present for Christmas with Mom’s side, as we congregated, albeit in a smaller number than usual, in Gramma and Grampa B’s new house. I was able to spend more time with the cousins that were there, have meaningful conversations with the Aunties, and let Gramma know how much I love her.

Being present felt good, rewarding, and glowy. I was able to absorb emotions of those around me, and feel the love.

2012 was a busy year, a wonderful year. So many things happened.

Paul and I celebrated 4 years of being together.

We booked and went on our dream trip, to Machu Picchu.

We added to our little family by adopting Charlie.

I watched my first and favourite niece grow.

I made sure to spend more time with friends.

Paul asked me to marry him. I said yes.

I defended my thesis. Twice.

We started wedding planning.

We upped our cool factor.

Paul and I have grown so much a couple this past year, dealing with the good, bad and unexpected. We’ve come a long way from two geeky undergrads meeting up over coffee because of a Facebook ad almost five years ago.

Now 2013 is well here, and I’m present. This year is going to be huge, again!

Paul and I are still in the throes of wedding planning, being supported by family and friends from across our wonderful country. Love you guys.

We are planning our honeymoon for somewhere in France and Germany. Paul keeps wanting to cut France, but I’m holding out!

We are hoping to buy a house. Yep. That. I feel like an adult saying that out loud.

Oh, and besides planning it, we will be married before the year is out. Yikes, and awesome, and exhilarating.

And Paul and I will be together on Christmas for the first time. I get butterflies over that.

Lots of things to do, see, make and present for. It’s going to be brilliant.

3 thoughts on “Being Present

  1. Oliver says:

    “We are planning our honeymoon for somewhere in France and Germany. Paul keeps wanting to cut France, but I’m holding out!”

    Sounds good – let us (me) know if you’re coming to Germany… …any ideas where you want to go?

    • ecochic87 says:

      We are thinking of Bavaria, and doing the Romantic Road, coming in and out of Munich. Is it really as beautiful as all the photos?

      • Oliver says:

        I’ve never been on the Romantic Road itself (to be honest, I had to search what you mean by “Romantic Road”), but I’ve been to some of the towns lying on and around the road.
        I guess it depends a bit on what you’re into – of course, it’s nice and beautiful and picturesque – and that might be the reason, why – according to wikipedia – the romantic road is one of the most famous and “crouded” scenic drives in Germany (especially Schloß Neuschwanstein, Rothenburg/Tauber).
        If you don’t mind seeing lots of other tourists, that might be fine for you. If you prefere “untouched” nature and loneliness, there might be better places. Although, yes, I have to admit, the bavarian countryside has really some nice places and the Alpes and so on…! (I live in Mannheim => not in Bavaria, therefore “admit” (-; )

        If you have any questions – let me know, I’d be glad to help you if I can!
        Regards!

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

