Friday Finds: I Wish It Were a Snow Day

1

February 8, 2013 by Amie M

Taking the bus to work today was an adventure. Navigating the 100 meters to the bus stop saw me almost falling down the front steps, twice, being thankful my rubber boots are lined, and then almost slipping on the sidewalk into the side street as I was crossing. But waiting in the calm quiet while the heavens were pouring what seems like all the snow was peaceful. I stood there and listened to the snow falling on the trees and on the hood of my parka. The soft rustle of crystalline flakes rubbing together, the cornstarch sound of other’s footstep on the ground were wonderful.

The walk to work from the bus stop was fun. I stomped and skipped my way through the almost knee high drifts. I giggled a little bit because it felt like winter back in Manitoba, just a few degrees warmer.

Then I trudged into the office building and saw there was next to no one in. Oh, if only today was a snow day!

I would be out for a long walk in the neighbourhood, until my toes grew cold because I gave up my warmer winter boots when I moved to a more temperate climate in Southern Ontario. I would convince Paul to stay home so we could go tobogganing at Guelph Lake down the dam with Vanessa and Rashaad. Those two are lucky buggers because the University is closed. They are probably laughing at Paul and I now.

Instead I will share a few things to keep you cosy and wishing for a traipse through the drifts.

Coffee

These prints by Indigo Bunting, available from Paperless Post make me want them in paper to post on a wall! The nice buns one makes me giggle.

If I were at home today, I would so tackle Paul’s nightstand. He has a tower of a book collection going. He calls it his queue. Well, this queue is a hazard that makes me wince every night we crawl into bed. One good bump, or jump up from a certain large orange haired lion wannabe will send everything toppling to the floor. Thank goodness the lovely and hilarious Emily Henderson has some tips to style a nightstand with the essentials. A mix of the vignette 2 and 3 (modern, fresh and masculine) would suit Paul nicely. Now Emily needs to come up with a function styling tips for dressers! We both need a little help there.

If Paul and I were at home together today, I would get him to memorize a poem together. A sonnet would be romantic. I used to do this all the time in school, especially Junior High and Elementary. But the poem I remember the most was from when a friend and I entered into our region’s Festival of the Arts as a duo reciting a poem. We chose the Cremation of Sam McGee by Robert Service. Jen and I had wonderful inflection as we read that poem aloud together, adding some sinister tilt to our voices. I still remember the opening verse:

There are strange things done in the Midnight Sun

By the men who moil for gold;

The Arctic trails have their secret tales

That would make your blood run cold;

The Northern Lights have seen queer sights,

But the queerest they ever did see

Was that night on the marge of Lake Lebarge

I cremated Sam McGee.

Weather and roads pending, we are heading to Heather’s tonight for some much needed board gaming and pizza. Oh, and root beer.

One thought on “Friday Finds: I Wish It Were a Snow Day

  1. Vanessa says:

    If only we were sledding on the dam… Instead, we are shovelling our faces off! I really can’t complain. I enjoy shovelling! Especially this much snow in S.Ontario! It, like, NEVER happens! And then I get to drink hot cocoa when I am done. YAY!

    IF you happen to go to Heather’s tonight (which at this point I would not advise), be VERY CAREFUL. They haven’t even cleaned our street yet… But they did our sidewalks? Oh, City of Guelph!

Happy thoughts and inspiring comments?

